Three Questions

During one of the last sermons I heard in Ohio, Pastor Greg challenged us to answer these three questions:

  • What about your life before Christ?
  • How did Christ change your life?
  • What is He calling you to do right now?

At the time of the sermon we were “homeless” and moving onto our next adventure. I didn’t know what God wanted me to do right then except move with a positive attitude.   Now that we are getting settled in and ready for the next four years I think it is time to go back to these questions and reevaluate. I want to refocus so that I can make the most of the time we have here because before we know it, it will be time to move again.

The first two questions for me are hard to quantify. I was lucky enough to grow up in a Christian home and can remember asking God into my life at a summer program when I was in 1st or 2nd grade. Through out my growing up years I was able to rededicate my life as different stages came and went. I never strayed to far or ever did anything I seriously regretted. I’m not saying I didn’t make mistakes. I was just lucky to have His way leading me forward.

Now on to the tough question, what does God want me to do right now.

I want to find a church that we can call home. When we left Ohio we had met so many people and now we go to different churches and no one says hello. I know, no one. No one wants to get to know us. It makes me sad, not because no one talks to us, but because I know it happens to more than just us. How many people come to church lost and looking and are turned off by our cliques and ignorance. I don’t want to forget the way it feels to be new. I want to become bold and search out new people so that hurting people can find the peace.

I never really thought much about where I went to church. We would try a few places and if it seemed good we would go. The changed started in Alamogordo after joining as small group we grew deep friendships. And church was not something you did once a week. It was where you went to see friends and it felt like home away from home. And the church we found in Ohio continued to deepen our faith and helped us find our closest friends.

So, what does God want me to do? I think he wants me to trust Him. He will find us a church and a new place. He has taken care of us, by quickly finding us a house and making all the dates for the different travels to work out. So, I can’t stop trusting Him now. I want to find the church now, but can hear God urging me to be patient. It will take some time. I will trust Him.

I will look for His direction.

I can’t wait to see what he has in store for us.

About Amanda

Hi I’m Amanda! I am a former Air Force member who has transitioned to being a stay at home mom and Air Force wife. My husband and I met in college in our military training program. Since then, we have lived in New Mexico and Ohio and now California. We have two sweet boys and are enjoying living in California where we have plenty of beach days and Disneyland trips! It sure is an adventure. I blog at Airman2Mom: www.airmantomom.com
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

